Log in

The Roots of IACPR
By Patricia Lounsbury, Member, Founding Committee

At a workshop held in May, 1988 at Iowa Methodist Medical Center in Des Moines, Kathy Kunath articulated the need for a network of cardiac and pulmonary rehabilitation programs in Iowa. She assembled a group of activists who later became the founders of IACPR. At the first meeting in October at the Airport Hilton in Des Moines, the "Founding Committee" was born, consisting of these ten Iowa pioneers:
  • Kathy Kunath (Iowa Methodist Medical Center, Des Moines)
  • Evelyn Schnoor (Iowa Methodist Medical Center, Des Moines)
  • Cynthia Barinsky (Iowa Lutheran)
  • Mary Monk Tevis (Marion Health Center, Sioux City)
  • Sheri Kephart (St. Luke's, Davenport)
  • Bonnie DeGrande (St. Luke's, Davenport)
  • Betty Kreiner (Howard County Hospital, Cresco)
  • Carolyn Hicks (Spencer Municipal Hospital, Spencer)
  • Tom Clancy (Mercy Hospital, Iowa City)
  • Patti Lounsbury (Story County Hospital, Nevada)

This group named the organization and drafted its first organizational chart, purpose and mission. 

By December 1988 the group had written the IACPR Constitution and in May 1989 the first membership meeting was held at Iowa Lutheran Hospital in Des Moines. Three months later, the IACPR Newsletter made its debut, sponsored by Eaton Telemetry and edited by Patti Lounsbury. 

Mary Monk Tevis was elected the first president of IACPR and was a major impetus for our national affiliation. In October 1989, IACPR was designated as a state society affiliate of the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation (AACVPR). Susan Frye, the first IACPR attorney, guided the organization through articles of incorporation and by April of 1990, we were incorporated as a nonprofit organization. 

Distinguished Member of the Year Award Recipients

Marcia Picock, 2000

Candy Steele, 2002

Patti Lounsbury, 2003

Nici Davis, 2007

Janie Knipper, 2008

Nancy Steingreaber, 2009

Marolyn Nuzum, 2010

Laura Mackaman, 2011

Diane McGrew, 2012 

Leah Lenz, 2013

Susan Flack, 2014  

Peg King, 2015

Becky Paxton, 2016

Leah Lenz, 2017

Claire Shannon, 2018

© Iowa Association of Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation
Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software